EDUCATION SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

MINUTES of the meeting held on Tuesday, 16 May 2017 commencing at 12.00 pm and finishing at 12.03 pm.

Present:

Voting Members: Councillor Mark Gray

Councillor Gill Sanders
Councillor Kevin Bulmer
Councillor John Howson
Councillor Richard Langridge
Councillor Sandy Lovatt
Councillor Michael Waine

Officers:

Whole of meeting Nick Graham; Deborah Miller

The Scrutiny Committee considered the matters, reports and recommendations contained or referred to in the agenda for the meeting and agreed as set out below. Copies of the agenda and reports are attached to the signed Minutes.

57/17 ELECTION OF A CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2017/18 COUNCIL YEAR (Agenda No. 1)

Councillor Gill Sanders moved and Councillor Banfield seconded that Councillor Howson be elected Chairman of the Committee for the 2017/18 Council Year. The motion was put to the vote and was lost by 3 votes to 6.

Councillor Bartington moved and Councillor Matelot seconded that Councillor Waine be elected Chairman of the Committee for the 2017/18 Council Year. The motion was put to the vote and was carried by 6 votes to 3.

RESOLVED: (by 6 votes to 3) that Councillor Michael Waine be elected Chairman of the Committee for the 2017/18 Council Year.

(Councillor Mark Gray in the Chair)

58/17 ELECTION OF A DEPUTY CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2017/18 COUNCIL YEAR (Agenda No. 2)

Councillor Waine moved and Councillor Thompson seconded that Councillor Fitzgerald O'Connor be elected Deputy Chairman of the Committee for the 2017/18 Council Year. The motion was put to the vote and was carried by 6 votes to 3.

.....

Councillor Gill Sanders moved and Councillor Banfield seconded that Councillor Howson be elected Deputy Chairman of the Committee for the 2017/18 Council Year. The motion was put to the vote and was lost by 6 votes to 3.

RESOLVED: (by 6 votes to 3) that Councillor Mrs Fitzgerald O'Connor be elected Chairman of the Committee for the 2017/18 Council Year.

	in the Chair
Date of signing	2017